Institute Advisory Committee


Meet the Institute Advisory Committee

Bishop Joseph Cistone

Bishop Joseph CistoneBishop Joseph R. Cistone, a native of Philadelphia, was ordained in 1975 and served in the Archdiocese as a parish priest, pastor and Auxiliary Bishop until his appointment as the Sixth Bishop of the Diocese of Saginaw Michigan in 2009. He also served as Dean of Formation at St. Charles Borromeo Seminary. Bishop Cistone has served on numerous Committees of the United States Conference of Catholic Bishops and has been a member of the Our Sunday Visitor Institute Advisory Committee since 2014.

Dr. Lori Dahlhoff

Dr. Lori DahlhoffDr. Lori Dahlhoff a respected leader in catechesis and lay ministry. She has over twenty years of experience as a catechetical leader in parish, Catholic school, and diocesan settings, including working as the Executive Director for the Religious Education Department of the National Catholic Educational Association (NCEA). Lori currently works as the Digital Content Manager for Our Sunday Visitor, Inc. and serves on the leadership team for the Federation for Catechesis with Hispanics.

Bishop John Dooher

Bishop John DooherA product of a Boston Catholic urban parish grammar school and high school, Bishop John A. Dooher was born May 3, 1943. He entered Cardinal O’Connell Seminary and Saint John Seminary 1961 thru ordination in 1969.

His first parochial assignment was a large suburban parish, Saint Francis Xavier in South Weymouth, which included a hospital and Naval Air Bass. In 1974, he was assigned to Saint Augustine Parish in South Boston during a critical time in the life of the city, which was struggling with issues of busing for school integration across the city.  During these years he served on the Priests’ Senate and was a parish advocate for cases before the Matrimonial Tribunal and was elected President of the Priests’ Senate and later chair of the Presbyteral Council after the revised Code of Canon Law.

In 1982, he was appointed Director of the Office of Spiritual Development, founded by then Auxiliary Bishop John D’Arcy and as Bishop of South Bend/Fort Wayne, Bishop D’Arcy appointed Bishop Dooher to the OSV Institute Advisory Board. In 1991, Bishop Dooher was appointed Administrator of Saints Peter and Paul Church, Saint Vincent de Paul Church, and Our Lady of Good Voyage Chapel, all in South Boston. In 1996, he was appointed Pastor of Saint Mary Church in Dedham, Massachusetts.

On December 12, 2006, he was ordained Auxiliary Bishop of Boston and is the Regional Bishop of the South Region of the Archdiocese of Boston.

Father Val Peter

Father Val PeterFather Val J. Peter has spent most of his adult life serving at-risk boys and girls. For 20 years he was Executive Director of the renowned Boys Town in Nebraska. During his tenure, he expanded the Home's mission to 17 states and the District of Columbia with program sites from coast to coast. Fr. Peter has been an outspoken national leader and serves on numerous national boards. He has published 29 books and authored more than 150 scholarly articles. Prior to his work at Boys Town, he was a tenured professor at Creighton University.  He currently serves as Director of the Catholic Center at Boys Town and Emeritus Executive Director. Fr. Peter has served on Our Sunday Visitor Institute Advisory Committee for many years and is a long-time member of Our Sunday Visitor Board of Directors.

Bishop Kevin Rhoades

Bishop Kevin RhodesBishop Kevin C. Rhoades was born and raised in Pennsylvania.He was ordained a priest for the Diocese of Harrisburg on July 9, 1983. He attained advanced degrees in theology and canon law from the Pontifical Gregorian University in Rome. Bishop Rhoades’ priestly ministry included assignments in Hispanic ministry and the Harrisburg diocesan chancery as well as pastor of Saint Francis of Assisi Parish in Harrisburg. He then served as a faculty member and then Rector of Mount Saint Mary’s Seminary in Emmitsburg, Maryland. He was ordained a bishop on December 9, 2004, and served as Bishop of Harrisburg for five years until his installation as Bishop of Fort Wayne – South Bend on January 13, 2010.

Bishop Rhoades has served on several committees of the United States Conference of Catholic Bishops (USCCB), including Chair of the Committee on Laity, Marriage, Family Life and Youth; and Chair of the USCCB Task Force on Health Care. He also serves as the Co-Chair of the International Catholic-Reformed Theological Dialogue on behalf of the Pontifical Council for Promoting Christian Unity.  He is a member of the Board of Directors of Catholic Relief Services and Chair of the Board of Directors of Our Sunday Visitor.

Dr. Janet Smith

Dr. Janet SmithJanet E. Smith holds the Father Michael J. McGivney Chair of Life Ethics at Sacred Heart Major Seminary in Detroit. She is the author of Humanae Vitae: A Generation Later and of the Right to Privacy, and the editor of Why Humanae Vitae Was Right: A Reader. She has coauthored Life Issues, Medical Choices, Questions and Answers for Catholics, with Chris Kaczor. She has published in The Thomist, The Irish Theological Quarterly, Nova et Vetera, The American Catholic Philosophical Quarterly, The National Catholic Bioethics Journal, among other publications.

She speaks nationally and internationally on the Catholic teachings on sexuality and on bioethics.

Jerome Kearns, Executive Director, OSV Institute

Jerry KearnsJerome B. Kearns, a graduate of the University of Notre Dame,  was appointed Executive Director of Our Sunday Visitor Institute in January 2009.  Prior to accepting this position, Mr. Kearns had been President of two South Bend, Indiana banks and Director of Development for the Brothers of Holy Cross, Notre Dame, IN.  He also serves on the Diocesan Finance Committee for the Diocese of Ft. Wayne-South Bend and is a member of the South Bend-Elkhart Legatus Chapter.



Michelle Hogan, Executive Assistant and Administrator of the OSV Institute

Michelle HoganMichelle Hogan has been with Our Sunday Visitor since 1997. In addition to her duties with the Institute she works for the Chief Mission Officer, the President of Publishing and the Editorial Director of Our Sunday Visitor.